Are sponges invertebrate or vertebrate?

invertebrate animals
Sponges are simple invertebrate animals that live in aquatic habitats. Although the majority of sponges are marine, some species live in freshwater lakes and streams.

Do sponges have invertebrates?

While sponges, like corals, are immobile aquatic invertebrates, they are otherwise completely different organisms with distinct anatomy, feeding methods, and reproductive processes.

What type of invertebrate are sponges?

phylum Porifera
Sponges are aquatic invertebrates that make up the phylum Porifera. The word “porifera” means pore-bearing. The phylum is aptly named. As you can see from Figure below, a sponge has a porous body.

What are the 3 main classes of Poriferans sponges )?

The approximately 5,000 living sponge species are classified in the phylum Porifera, which is composed of three distinct groups, the Hexactinellida (glass sponges), the Demospongia, and the Calcarea (calcareous sponges).

Which organism is an invertebrate?

An invertebrate is a cold-blooded animal with no backbone. Invertebrates can live on land—like insects, spiders, and worms—or in water. Marine invertebrates include crustaceans (such as crabs and lobsters), mollusks (such as squids and clams), and coral.

Do sponges have an endoskeleton or exoskeleton?

Sponges have an internal skeleton that gives them support and protection. An internal skeleton is called an endoskeleton. A sponge endoskeleton consists of short, sharp rods called spicules (see Figure below). Spicules are made of silica, calcium carbonate, or spongin, a tough protein.

What are the 4 classes of sponge?

The classification of sponges is based on spicule form and chemical composition. Living sponges have traditionally been divided into three or perhaps four classes: Homoscleromorpha, Calcispongiae, Hexactinellida, and Demospongiae.

What are the characteristics of Poriferans?

Characteristics of Phylum Porifera

  • The cells of Poriferans are loosely organized.
  • They are mostly found in marine water.
  • They are either radially symmetrical or asymmetrical.
  • Their body is usually cylindrical.
  • The scleroblast secretes spicules while spongin fibres are secreted by spongioblasts.

What are 10 invertebrate animals?

Worldwide in distribution, they include animals as diverse as sea stars, sea urchins, earthworms, sponges, jellyfish, lobsters, crabs, insects, spiders, snails, clams, and squid.

What are the 6 types of invertebrates?

The Invertebrates unit explores six groups of invertebrates— poriferans (sponges), cnidarians (such as sea jellies and corals), echinoderms (such as sea urchins and sea stars), mollusks (such as octopuses, snails, and clams), annelids (worms), and arthropods (such as insects, spiders, and lobsters).