Can you primitive camp in Ohio state parks?

Ohio State Parks offer campgrounds with primitive group camping areas as well as individual primitive camp sites. See Bridle Camps for primitive camping areas specifically designed for equestrian use.

How much does it cost to tent camp at Mohican State Park?


$35 Primitive River
$40 Off River sites w/ electric & water
$45 River Front & Over Looking River Sites w/electric & water

How much does it cost to camp at a state park in Ohio?

Ohio remains one of the few states in the country that does not charge a general admission or parking fee at its 74 state parks. Day use facilities, including trails, beaches, picnic areas, boating and fishing facilities are free of charge.

Where can I backpack camp in Ohio?

Ohio Backpacking Trails

  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park. This is the only national park in Ohio.
  • Mohican State Forest.
  • AEP Recreation Land.
  • Burr Oak State Park.
  • Shawnee State Forest.
  • Strouds Run.
  • Tar Hollow State Forest.
  • Wayne National Forest – Athens Unit.

Can you live in a tent in Ohio?

Even if you own the land, you cannot legally live in a tent. In the eyes of the law, living full-time in such conditions is equal to sleeping in a car in a parking lot, thus, you are considered homeless.

Can you camp along the Ohio River?

Camping permits are required for Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio state parks. These permits may be obtained at the park office at each location. Camping permits are required for private campgrounds along the river.

Is it legal to camp in the woods in Ohio?

Ohio allows backcountry camping in most of its state forests and along a long hiking trail that winds through the state. Almost all of Ohio’s state parks have campgrounds with varying degrees of development. Many have wooded sites without hookups, allowing for a more primitive experience.

How long can you stay at a Ohio state park campground?

The maximum period of time that any person is permitted to stay overnight in any designated campground or other rented overnight facility within a state park shall not exceed fourteen days in any thirty day time frame.