How do equipments work in MTG?

Equipment is an artifact subtype that has the “equip” keyword ability. By paying the equip cost (which can only be done at sorcery speed), it attaches to a creature you control. If that creature leaves play, the Equipment becomes unattached and remains in play.

How do you equip equipment in Magic The Gathering?

Equip is a keyword ability found on artifacts with the subtype “Equipment”. By paying the equip cost, you can attach the artifact to a creature you control, which is referred to in the text as the “equipped creature”.

What happens to equipment when creature dies?

What happens to equipment attached to a creature when the creature dies? Nothing. It stays on the battlefield, not equipped to anything.

Can you equip equipment at instant speed?

No. Equip abilities can only be activated at sorcery speed.

Can an equipment equip itself?

An Equipment can’t equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent stops equipping that permanent, but remains in play. (This is a state-based effect. See rule 420.)

Is attach the same as equip?

They’re the same thing. The keyword Equip means “Cost: Attach to target creature you control.

Are equipment creatures modified?

A creature that is equipped is considered modified no matter who controls the Equipment that’s attached to it. Only creatures can be modified. If a modified creature stops being a creature, it is no longer considered modified.

Can you Unequip at instant speed?

You can not unequip an equipment without equipping another creature. You may only unattach it if the card says so, Cranial Plating is the only equipment that can attach at instant speed.

Does shroud prevent equipment?

Shroud prevents spells and abilities from targeting the creature; attached Equipment is just that, attached. This isn’t targeting the creature. Enchantment and equipment cards don’t maintain a constant state of targeting.

Can equipment be tapped?

You can tap equipment all you want, but there’s no rule stating that a tapped equipment can’t be attached to anything.

Can you equip Planeswalkers?

The Blood Throne may only be equipped to planeswalkers. Humans cannot attack equipped planeswalker. If The Blood Throne is equipped, at the beginning of each opponents’ upkeep, they sacrifice a creature. Then put a loyalty counter on the equipped planeswalker.

Can I Unequip an artifact?

You can’t unequip something without equipping it to something else because the equip ability requires a target. If you give the creature protection from artifacts (e.g. via Tower of the Magistrate), that causes the equipment to fall off.