How do you remember the action of the rotator cuff?

A helpful mnemonic to remember these muscles is “SITS.” The glenohumeral joint is a ball and socket joint and comprises a large spherical humeral head and a small glenoid cavity….The rotator cuff includes the following muscles[1][2][3]:

  1. Subscapularis.
  2. Infraspinatus.
  3. Supraspinatus.
  4. Teres minor.

What is a simple sequence to remember the rotator cuff muscles?

With ‘SITS’, recalling this order also helps remember the insertions of these muscles, with the order being superior, middle, and inferior facets of the greater tubercle of the humerus for supraspinatus, infraspinatus and teres minor respectively and the lesser tubercle of the humerus for subscapularis.

What exercises work the rotator cuff muscles?

5 Exercises for Rotator Cuff Pain

  • Recovering.
  • Doorway stretch.
  • Side-lying rotation.
  • High-to-lows.
  • Reverse fly.
  • Lawn mower pull.
  • See a doctor.

What are the 5 rotator cuff muscles?

Each one of these muscles is part of the rotator cuff and plays an important role:

  • Supraspinatus. This holds your humerus in place and keeps your upper arm stable.
  • Infraspinatus. This is the main muscle that lets you rotate and extend your shoulder.
  • Teres Minor. This is the smallest rotator cuff muscle.
  • Subscapularis.

What are the 4 rotator cuff muscles?

Parts of the Rotator Cuff

  • Supraspinatus controls internal rotation and lifting of the arm.
  • Infraspinatus allows you to externally rotate your arm in the shoulder socket.
  • Teres minor is a small muscle that helps rotate your arm.
  • Subscapularis controls arm abduction (holding your arm out straight, away from your body).

Are pushups good for rotator cuff?

If you know that you have a rotator cuff problem, or even if you suspect one, it’s best to avoid regular pushups for a while until you fully heal. In the meantime, wall pushups are a great alternative, as is doing pushups on an elevated surface like a counter or aerobic step.

What are the 4 muscles of rotator cuff?

What are the 4 tendons of the rotator cuff?

The rotator cuff consists of four muscles. These are the subscapularis, the supraspinatus, the infraspinatus and the teres minor muscles. These muscles end in short, flat, broad tendons which fuse intimately with the fibrous capsule to form the musculotendinous cuff.