How many countries are in the European Union as of 2015?

28 EU countries
13 May – As part of the “European Semester”, the Commission adopts recommendations for each of the 28 EU countries, offering guidance on 2015-2016 national budgets and economic policies.

Who are the EU 15 countries?

Note : EU-15 area countries are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

How many EU members are there in 2016?

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are signatories to the founding treaties of the union and thereby share in the privileges and obligations of membership.

Who are the 12 original members of the European Union?

The EU was established on 1 November 1993 by the Treaty on European Union (Maastricht Treaty). On 31 December 1994, the EU had 12 Member States: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and the United Kingdom.

What countries joined the EU since 2004?

1 May 2004 – 10 new countries Cyprus and Malta join the EU along with 8 Central and Eastern European countries — Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia — finally ending the division of Europe after the Second World War.

What country joined the EU in 2013?

On 9 December 2011 leaders from the EU and Croatia signed the accession treaty. The country became the 28th EU member country on 1 July 2013.

Who are the original members of the European Community?

The original member states of what came to be known as the European Communities were the Inner Six: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany. The communities and their successors have grown in size by the accession of 21 new member states and in power by the addition of policy areas to their remit.

What is a member state of the European Union?

Member state of the European Union. Jump to navigation Jump to search. State that is party to treaties of the European Union (EU) The European Union (EU) consists of 28 member states. Each member state is party to the founding treaties of the union and thereby subject to the privileges and obligations of membership.

Is the UK still a member of the European Union?

For the moment the UK remains a full member of the EU, however, it is in the process of withdrawing membership. Several countries are in the process of integrating or transitioning into the European Union. Membership in the EU is a long and difficult process, it also requires a free-market economy and a stable democracy.

What countries are in the European Union?

Denmark, Ireland, and the UK joined in 1973, Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986. In subsequent years many other countries joined the Union. Today the EU consists of 28 member countries.