Is jail time mandatory for 3rd DUI in Illinois?

A third DUI offense is eligible for probation of up to 48 months. It also has a mandatory sentence of at least 10 days in jail or 480 hours of community service.

How many DUIs is a felony in Illinois?

While a misdemeanor conviction will still result in heavy fines, a driver’s license suspension of one year, and possibly jail time, felony DUI is punished much more harshly. A third or subsequent conviction for drunk driving or DUI involving certain aggravating factors is considered a felony offense in Illinois.

What happens if you get 4 DUIs in Illinois?

Jail time: A person convicted of a fourth offense might face up to 3 to 7 years in jail. If your BAC level was . 16% or greater you could face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 90 days.

How long do you go to jail for DUI in Illinois?

In Illinois, DUI is typically charged as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of up to one year in jail and/or a fine in the amount of $2,500.00 plus mandatory court assessments. The sentence may also range anywhere from court supervision to probation.

Is a Class 3 felony Probationable in Illinois?

A Class 3 Felony is punishable with a minimum term of imprisonment of 2 years up to a maximum of 5 years. See 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-40. These offenses are generally probationable.

How many DUIS are in Illinois?

National Drunk Driving Statistics Map –

2019 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatality Data Illinois National
Total: Driving under the influence 2,825 1,024,508
Under 18: Liquor laws 27 15,508
Total: Liquor laws 181 175,548
Under 18: Drunkenness 0 2,076

How can I avoid jail time for 3rd DUI in Illinois?

Third DUI Offense The reason is, there is almost no escaping jail time on a third DUI in Illinois courts. The judge will not allow it. Some counties will allow probation and no jail time on a second DUI offense, but no county will allow it for a third offense.

What makes a DUI aggravated in Illinois?

In Illinois, any DUI charge that is classified as a felony charge is automatically considered to be an aggravated DUI charge. As the name suggests, aggravated DUI is more serious than a misdemeanor DUI and carries more serious consequences.

What is the penalty for fourth DUI in Illinois?

DUI Sentencing & Penalties

General Penalties:
Jail / Imprisonment 1-364 Days 3-7 years
Periodic Imprisonment Up to 12 months 18-30 months
Supervision Up to 2 years None

How long do you lose your license for a DUI in Illinois?

The rules for a revoked license are as follows: One DUI conviction results in a revoked license for one year. Two DUI convictions in any 20-year period results in a revoked license for five years. Three DUI convictions result in a revoked license for 10 years.

How do you get a DUI dismissed in Illinois?

A driver can get out of a DUI charge, despite failed test results or refusing Breathalyzer tests. Legal motions, police report errors, and arrest technicalities are the best way how to beat a DUI and get out of an ignition interlock in Illinois.

What does a Class 3 felony carry in the state of Illinois?

Under Illinois law, Class 3 felony convictions provide for a prison sentence of 5 to 10 years. Class 3 felony convictions can also see the imposition of fines of up to $25,000. Even after serving a prison sentence, a felony conviction can result in years of parole conditions and restrictions on your rights.