What are the 12 Modified Mercalli scale?

Damage slight in specially designed structures; considerable damage in ordinary substantial buildings with partial collapse. Damage great in poorly built structures….Correlation with magnitude.

Magnitude Typical Maximum Modified Mercalli Intensity
5.0–5.9 VI–VII
6.0–6.9 VII–IX
7.0 and higher VIII or higher

What was the Modified Mercalli scale level?

Correlation with magnitude

Magnitude Typical Maximum Modified Mercalli Intensity
3.0 – 3.9 III – IV
4.0 – 4.9 IV – V
5.0 – 5.9 V – VI
6.0 – 6.9 VI – VII

What intensity was Christchurch earthquake?

2011 Christchurch earthquake

Damaged Catholic cathedral two months on
Depth 5 km (3.1 mi)
Epicentre 43.583°S 172.680°ECoordinates:43.583°S 172.680°E Port Hills near Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Areas affected New Zealand
Max. intensity IX (Violent)

What is Rossi Forel intensity scale?

: an arbitrary numerical scale of intensity of seismic disturbances ranging from one for a barely perceptible tremor to 10 for an earthquake of the highest intensity.

Which scale has 12 levels of intensity?

Measurements of intensity using the Modified Mercalli scale, are composed of 12 increasing levels that range from imperceptible shaking to catastrophic destruction, usually designated by Roman numerals, which stresses their semi-quantitative nature.

What is the highest number on the Mercalli scale?

Intensity X (10) is the highest value on the MMI. Learn more: Earthquake Magnitude, Energy Release, and Shaking Intensity. Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale.

What is the highest level on the Mercalli Intensity Scale?

How long did the 2011 Virginia earthquake last?

23, 2011, seismic waves shot out in all directions from a depth of four miles below the Earth’s surface about 35 miles northwest of Richmond, near Mineral, Va. The rumbling lasted less than a minute, but that’s all it took to freak out a citizenry unaccustomed to tremors.

What was the depth of the Christchurch earthquake 2010?

2010 Canterbury earthquake

Christchurch Wellington
UTC time 2010-09-03 16:35:46
Magnitude 7.1 Mw
Depth 10 km (6.2 mi)
Epicentre 43.55°S 172.18°E near Darfield, Canterbury

What is the used of Mercalli scale and Rossi-Forel scale?

Answer: Intensity scales, like the Modified Mercalli Scale and the Rossi-Forel scale, measure the amount of shaking at a particular location. An earthquake causes many different intensities of shaking in the area of the epicenter where it occurs. So the intensity of an earthquake will vary depending on where you are.

What is the used of Rossi-Forel scale?

The Rossi–Forel scale was one of the first seismic scales to represent earthquake intensities.