What are the 12 parts of heart?

Anatomy of the heart

  • Left atrium and auricle. Left atrium. Left auricle.
  • Right atrium and auricle. Right atrium. Right auricle.
  • Interventricular septum and septal papillary muscles. Interventricular septum.
  • Right ventricle and papillary muscles. Right ventricle.
  • Left ventricle and papillary muscles. Left ventricle.

What is the basic physiology of the heart?

The heart itself is made up of 4 chambers, 2 atria and 2 ventricles. De-oxygenated blood returns to the right side of the heart via the venous circulation. It is pumped into the right ventricle and then to the lungs where carbon dioxide is released and oxygen is absorbed.

What side is your heart on left or right?

Your heart is slightly on the left side of your body. It sits between your right and left lungs. The left lung is slightly smaller to make room for the heart in your left chest.

What is the anatomy of heart?

The heart is made up of four chambers: two upper chambers known as the left atrium and right atrium and two lower chambers called the left and right ventricles. It is also made up of four valves: the tricuspid, pulmonary, mitral and aortic valves.

What side is a woman’s heart on?

Your Heart is Not on the Left Side of Your Chest Your heart is in middle of your chest, in between your right and left lung. It is, however, tilted slightly to the left.

What is anatomy and physiology of the heart?

Welcome to Module 1: Anatomy and Physiology of the Heart. This self leaning package is designed to as tool to assist nurse in understanding the hearts structure and how the heart works. The goal of this module is to review:

What are cardiac muscle cells?

Cardiac muscle cells make up the myocardium portion of the heart wall. They are relatively short, branched fibers that measure approximately 10-20 micrometers in diameter and 50 to 100 micrometers in length. Typically each cardiac myocyte contains a single nucleus, which is centrally positioned.

What are the two main phases of the cardiac cycle?

The cycle has two main phases: diastole – when the heart ventricles are relaxed and systole – when the ventricles contract. In a cardiac cycle, blood enters the right atrium of the heart from the superior and inferior vena cavae, and flows across the tricuspid valve into the right ventricle.