What are the 47 critically endangered species in India?

Critically endangered animals

  • White-bellied heron (Ardea insignis)
  • Great Indian bustard (Ardeotis niriceps)
  • Baer’s pochard (Aythya baeri)
  • Spoon-billed sandpiper (Calidris pygmaea)
  • White-rumped vulture (Gyps bengalensis)
  • Indian vulture (Gyps indicus)
  • Slender-billed vulture (Gyps tenuirostris)

Which is the most critically endangered species of India?

National Endangered Species Day 2020: Here are 7 endangered animal species in India

  • Asiatic Lion. The Asiatic Lion is one of the mightiest species of lion in the world.
  • Bengal Tiger.
  • Snow Leopard.
  • Nilgiri Tahr.
  • Kashmiri Red Stag.
  • Blackbuck.
  • One- horned rhinoceros.

WHO lists endangered species in India?

A total of 199 Species are under critically endangered species in India , IUCN RED List 2021. The number of species added in 2021 to the IUCN RED LIST Critically Endangered Species from INDIA is 20, Fourteen Animal Species and Six Plant Species.

Which species is critically endangered in IUCN list?

African Elephant species in March 2021 have been listed as ‘Endangered’ and ‘Critically Endangered’ in the IUCN Red List.

How many critically endangered species are there in 2021?

8,404 species
As of 2021, of the 120,372 species currently tracked by the IUCN, there are 8,404 species that are considered to be Critically Endangered. The IUCN Red List provides the public with information regarding the conservation status of animal, fungi, and plant species.

Which animal species is critically endangered?

Species Directory

Common name Scientific name Conservation status ↓
Javan Rhino Rhinoceros sondaicus Critically Endangered
Orangutan Pongo abelii, Pongo pygmaeus Critically Endangered
Saola Pseudoryx nghetinhensis Critically Endangered
Sumatran Elephant Elephas maximus sumatranus Critically Endangered

How many critically endangered species are there?

conservation and extinction issues 7,079 species are classified as critically endangered—the most threatened category of species listed by the IUCN—or else are dependent on conservation efforts to protect them.