What are the components of the reflex arc?

The simplest arrangement of a reflex arc consists of the receptor, an interneuron (or adjustor), and an effector; together, these units form a functional group. Sensory cells carry input from the receptor (afferent impulses) to a central interneuron, which makes contact with a motor neuron.

What are 5 components of the reflex arc?

The pathway can be described as a ‘reflex arc’ which is made up of 5 components:

  • A receptor – muscle spindle.
  • An afferent fibre – muscle spindle afferent.
  • An integration centre – lamina IX of spinal cord.
  • An efferent fibre – α-motoneurones.
  • An effector – muscle.

What is the pathway of a reflex arc?

A reflex arc defines the pathway by which a reflex travels—from the stimulus to sensory neuron to motor neuron to reflex muscle movement.

What are the basic components of the reflex arc quizlet?

Terms in this set (5)

  • receptor. Sense organ in skin, muscle, or other organ.
  • sensory neuron. Carries impulses towards CNS.
  • interneuron. Carries impulses within CNS.
  • motor neuron. Carries impulse away from CNS.
  • effector. Structure by which animal responds (muscle, gland, etc.)

Which of the following components of a reflex arc happens first?

Reflex arc starts with a stimulus. The stimulus must be sufficiently strong to initiate impulse in sensory neuron. Sensory neuron carries the impulse to intermediary neuron. Intermediary neuron carries the impulse to appropriate motor neuron.

What are the four major plexuses?

Spinal Plexuses

  • Cervical Plexus—Serves the Head, Neck and Shoulders.
  • Brachial Plexus—Serves the Chest, Shoulders, Arms and Hands.
  • Lumbar Plexus—Serves the Back, Abdomen, Groin, Thighs, Knees, and Calves.
  • Sacral Plexus—Serves the Pelvis, Buttocks, Genitals, Thighs, Calves, and Feet.

What is the correct order for the components of a reflex arc quizlet?

Place the following events of a reflex arc in the correct order: 1) motor neuron activation, 2) sensory neuron activation, 3) sensory receptor activation, 4) Information processing, 5) effector response.

What are the 5 nerve plexus?

Nerve plexuses throughout the body tend to be named after the area in which the plexus occurs and the organs, limbs, and tissues it serves. Examples include the cervical, brachial, lumbar, sacral, celiac, and coccygeal plexuses.