What countries are in the south Cone?

The Southern Cone’s geographical area includes the countries of Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay.

What are the 14 countries in South America?

The continent generally includes twelve sovereign states: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela; two dependent territories: the Falkland Islands and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; and one internal territory: French Guiana.

What is the largest country in the Southern Cone?

Largest Countries in South America 2022

Rank Country Area
1 Brazil 8,515,767 km²
2 Argentina 2,780,400 km²
3 Peru 1,285,216 km²
4 Colombia 1,141,748 km²

What is the capital of Uruguay?

MontevideoUruguay / Capital

How many countries and capitals are in South America?

South America is made up of 12 independent countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela….Venezuela – Caracas.

Country Capital
Argentina Buenos Aires
Bolivia Sucre
Brazil Brasília
Chile Santiago

What country is between Chile and Uruguay?

Argentina is located in the southern area of the South American Continent. It is bound by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Chile to the west, Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean to the east…. Chile is located on the extreme southwestern coast of South America.

What country in the Southern Cone has one of the most developed cities?

Uruguay is a modern and well-developed country. About 88 percent of the population is of European descent, and more than 92 percent of the population is urban. The capital city of Montevideo, a cosmopolitan city with a population of about 3.5 million, is home to about 40 percent of the population.

What countries are in the Southern Cone?

In terms of social, economic and political geography, the Southern Cone comprises Argentina, Chile, and Uruguay, and sometimes includes Brazil ‘s four southernmost states ( Paraná, Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, and São Paulo ).

What is the largest city in the Southern Cone?

Demographics of the Southern Cone. Buenos Aires is the largest metropolitan area at 13.1 million and Santiago, Chile has 6.4 million. When part of Southeastern Brazil is included, São Paulo is the largest city, with 19.8 million; in the Southern Brazil, the largest metropolitan area is Porto Alegre, with more than 4 million.

What makes the Southern Cone the most prosperous region in South America?

High life expectancy, the highest Human Development Index of Latin America, high standard of living, significant participation in the global markets and the emerging economy of its members make the Southern Cone the most prosperous macro-region in South America.”

What is the history of the Southern Cone?

Similar to the rest of Latin America, the genetic ancestry of the population of the Southern Cone reflects the History of the continent: the Iberian colonizers were mostly men who arrived without women. In consequence, they had children with the local Amerindian women or with African female slaves.