What does Moorea mean in Tahitian?

Moorea means lizard (Mo’o) and yellow (rea). A legend tells the story of the origin of the name of the splendid sister island of Tahiti… The yellow lizard legend… Long ago, a happy couple lived on the island of Maiao, formerly called TupuaiManu.

What is Moorea known for?

Moorea (pronounced Mo-or-e-ah) is one of 118 French Polynesian islands scattered throughout the South Pacific. In particular, Moorea is known for aquamarine lagoons, jutting mountains covered in lush rainforest, and friendly locals.

What country owns Moorea?

French Polynesia
Moorea-Maiao is a commune of French Polynesia, an overseas territory of France in the Pacific Ocean. The commune is in the administrative subdivision of the Windward Islands.

Who discovered Moorea?

The first European to sight the island was Pedro Fernandes de Queirós, in 1606. The first European settlers arrived during the 18th century. The first Europeans to arrive on the island were the Englishmen Samuel Wallis and James Cook.

What language do they speak in Moorea?

Tahitian language

Native speakers 68,260, 37% of ethnic population (2007 census)
Language family Austronesian Malayo-Polynesian Oceanic Polynesian Eastern Polynesian Tahitic Tahitian
Official status
Recognised minority language in French Polynesia

How safe is Moorea?

Crime In Moorea Overall, this is a very safe destination. It is a good idea to exercise caution. Petty theft does happen. While violent crime is very low, car break-ins happen.

What currency is used in Moorea?

the French Pacific Franc
Currency. The currency used in French Polynesia is the French Pacific Franc, abbreviated XPF or CFP. Denominations are available in 1/2/5/10/20/50 and 100 coins, and 500/1,000/5,000 and 10,000 bills.

Who owns French Polynesia?

French Polynesia is a sprawling possession of France in the Pacific Ocean, made up of 118 volcanic and coral islands and atolls, including Tahiti. For France this huge stretch of the Pacific – as big as Western Europe – remains strategically valuable.

Why is Tahiti called French Polynesia?

The native Pomare Family ruled until December 29, 1880, when Tahiti finally became a French colony. In 1957, the islands were reconstituted into a French Overseas Territory and given the official name French Polynesia.