What does the Declaration of Independence say in modern English?

We declare we are no longer under the British crown’s rule, and all political connections are hereby over. These Free and Independent States of America have full power to each build partnerships, do business, go to war, or negotiate peace.

Where can I read Declaration of Independence?

the National Archives museum
Located on the upper level of the National Archives museum, the Rotunda for the Charters of Freedom is the permanent home of the original Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the United States, and Bill of Rights.

Is the Declaration of Independence in English?

It was ratified on July 4, 1776. It says that the Americans were no longer under British rule. Instead, the thirteen British colonies came together to become a union of free and independent states….

United States Declaration of Independence
Purpose To announce and explain separation from Great Britain

How does the Declaration of Independence relate to your life today?

It was used as an announcement of a new nation’s founding, as a diplomatic appeal for recognition, as a statement of political philosophy and as a call to defend liberty at home and abroad. Today, as our democracy comes under pressure at home and from hostile actors abroad, the Declaration is as relevant as ever.

What is the last word in Declaration of Independence?

We ask you also to read the last line in the famous declaration with the understanding that the word “we” includes all Americans: “And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.”

What was US called before Independence?

United Colonies
On September 9, 1776, the Second Continental Congress adopted a new name for what had been called the “United Colonies.” The moniker United States of America has remained since then as a symbol of freedom and independence.

Was America ever ruled by England?

British America comprised the colonial territories of the British Empire in the Americas from 1607 to 1783.