What is Nagpur bench?

Nagpur is an industrial and commercial city situated in the centre of India. Formerly, it was the capital of the former State of Madhya Pradesh and now it is the sub-capital of the State of Maharashtra. A full-fledged High Court was established at Nagpur on 9th January 1936.

Does Nagpur have a bench of Bombay High Court?

Principal seat and benches The court has benches in Nagpur, Aurangabad and Panaji. Mumbai (City), Mumbai (Suburban), Thane, Palghar, Kolhapur, Nashik, Pune, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Satara, Sangli, Sindhudurg, Solapur, Dadra & Nagar Haveli at Silvassa, Daman, Diu.

What are benches in High Court?

The phrase “bench and bar” denotes all judges and lawyers collectively. The term “full bench” is used when all the judges of a certain court sit together to decide a case, as in the phrase “before the full bench”, which is also referred to as “en banc”.

What is writ petition L?

Writ Petition is an order by a higher court to a lower court or courts directing them to act or stop them from doing an activity.

How many cases are pending in Bombay High Court?

The Bombay High Court currently has the highest number of pending cases, with 4.64 lakh cases pending as of September 1, 2018. There are around 56,479 cases pending over the last 10 years.

Which city does not have a bench of the Bombay High Court?

The Bombay High Court does not have a bench at which one of the following places?

Union Territory Jurisdiction(High Court)
Puducherry 1.Kerla
Andaman and Nicobar Islands 2.Mumbai
Lakshadweep 3. Chennai
Daman and Diu 4. Kolkata

Which High Court has no bench?

Guwahati High Court has no Bench.

What does bench mean in court?

The term the bench refers to judges and comes from the name of the place in the courtroom where the judge sits.

How many types of bench are there in court?

To the uninitiated, a bench is always constituted with an odd number of judges. A bench of two or three judges is called a division bench and a bench of three or five judges is called full bench. A bench of five or seven judges is called a constitutional bench.

What are the five types of writs?

The five types of writs are:

  • Habeas Corpus.
  • Mandamus.
  • Prohibition.
  • Certiorari.
  • Quo-Warranto.

What is difference between writ and petition?

The major difference between these two is that under the Writ Act 226 there is a constitutional remedy for all people. It is raised by a legal authority. But a petition is a form of writ raised by the people in the form of a request for a legal authority that seeks to take action regarding a particular cause.

Why is Bombay High Court not Mumbai High court?

The Bombay HC is one of the few institutions in Maharashtra that continues to carry the old name of the city. The state government renamed Bombay as Mumbai in 1995 and all institutions under it altered their names accordingly. The Madras High Court, which came into being around the same time, has one bench in Madurai.