What is the 3 main division of philosophy?

Explain and differentiate three main areas of philosophy: ethics, epistemology and metaphysics.

What are the major divisions of philosophy?

The four main branches of philosophy are metaphysics, epistemology, axiology, and logic. Metaphysics is the branch of philosophy that considers the physical universe and the nature of ultimate reality.

What are the historical periods of philosophy?

The Department of the History of Philosophy covers the entire history of philosophy from the Presocratic philosophers up to today, applying a division into four periods (ancient, medieval, modern and contemporary).

What are the two major divisions of moral philosophy?

A contrastive theory of some concept holds that the concept in question only applies or fails to apply relative to a set of alternatives. Contrastivism has been applied to a wide range of philosophically important topics, including several topics in ethics.

What are the four periods of history?

What are the 4 periods of history?

  • Ancient Times (600 B.C. to 476 A.D.)
  • The Middle Ages (476 A.D. to 1450 A.D.)
  • Early Modern Era (1450-A.D. to 1750 A.D.)
  • Modern Era (1750 A.D to Present)

What is the first period of philosophy?

Early modern European philosophy. Most scholars consider the period to begin with René Descartes’ Meditationes de Prima Philosophiae (Meditations on First Philosophy) in Paris in 1641 and conclude with the mature work of the German philosopher Immanuel Kant in the 1780s.

What are the 3 division of ethics?

The three major divisions of ethical philosophy may be called Virtue Ethics, Deontology, and Consequentialism.

What are the three major divisions in ethics?

Normative Ethics, Metaethics and Applied Ethics: Three Branches of Ethics – PHI220 Ethics.

What are the main periods of history?

What are the major historical periods in philosophy?