What is the scientific name of diatoms?

BacillariophyceaeDiatom / Scientific name

diatom, (class Bacillariophyceae), any member of the algal class Bacillariophyceae (division Chromophyta), with about 16,000 species found in sediments or attached to solid substances in all the waters of Earth.

How many species of diatoms are there?

Estimations of the numbers of diatom species vary widely, from a low of 1,800 planktonic species (12) to a high of 200,000 (13). Most recent estimates range from 12,000 to 30,000 species (14, 15).

What is a benthic diatom?

Benthic diatoms are microalgae used worldwide for water quality assessment. They are of particular interest in the context of bioassessment because of their taxonomic diversity and different species sensitivity and resistance to pollution.

What are the 2 different groups of diatoms?

The classification of diatoms is based on the structure of their siliceous valves showing different symmetry, dividing diatoms into two main groups – centric diatoms and elongated or pennate diatoms.

What is the scientific name of brown algae?

PhaeophyceaeBrown algae / Scientific name

What is the scientific name of dinoflagellates?

DinoflagellataDinoflagellates / Scientific name

What is the family of diatoms?

Diatoms are formally classified as belonging to the Division Chrysophyta, Class Bacillariophyceae.

Are Pennate diatoms benthic?

Pennate diatoms were predominantly benthic (Figure 2a, Supplementary Figure S1 node 2) and among them the clade of actively motile raphid pennates was dominated by solitary forms (Figure 2a, Supplementary Figure S1 node 1).

What does benthic refer to?

The term benthic refers to anything associated with or occurring on the bottom of a body of water. The animals and plants that live on or in the bottom are known as the benthos. In ocean waters, nearshore and estuary areas are most frequently mapped.

What are types of diatoms?

Most scientists break up diatoms into two major groups: Centrales, the centric diatoms, and Pennales, the pennate diatoms. The centric diatoms are radially symmetrical, with parts radiating out from a central point.

What are different types of diatoms?

Diatoms are divided into two groups that are distinguished by the shape of the frustule: the centric diatoms and the pennate diatoms. Pennate diatoms are bilaterally symmetric.