When did Ireland win the Grand Slam Six Nations?

WALES 15-17 IRELAND, 2009 Ireland may have enjoyed their fair share of Guinness Six Nations glory since 2009, but their Grand Slam victory 13 years ago will be forever etched in history – as much for the drama that ensued, as for lifting the trophy for the first time in 24 years.

Which team has won the most Grand Slams?

Which country has the most grand slams?

  • England, 13 Grand Slams.
  • Wales, 12 Grand Slams.
  • France, 9 Grand Slams.
  • Ireland, Scotland, 3 Grand Slams.
  • Italy, 0 Grand Slams.

How many times have Ireland won the Grand Slam?

Grand Slam and Triple Crown It has since been won four times by Ireland and Wales, and three times by England.

Did Ireland win the Grand Slam in 2018?

After a 24–15 victory against England on the final day, Ireland secured a Grand Slam, their third ever, alongside a Triple Crown.

How many 6 Nations have Ireland won?

four times
Ireland has won the six nations four times, lifting the trophy in 2009, 2014, 2015 and 2018. The two countries that have not yet one the tournament are Scotland and Italy.

When did Scotland win the Grand Slam?

Scotland have won the Grand Slam on three occasions: 1925, 1984 and 1990, in addition capturing a further seven Triple Crowns. The first such Grand Slam was a true red letter day as it also marked the opening of Scottish Rugby’s new home ground, Murrayfield.

Can France win Grand Slam?

France will win their first Six Nations title and Grand Slam since 2010 if they beat England in the final match of the 2022 tournament, which kicks off at 20:00 GMT.

How many Triple Crowns did Ireland win?

What is a Triple crown in the Six Nations and have Ireland, Wales, England or Scotland won it most? IRELAND have secured the Six Nations Triple Crown.

What happened in Ireland’s last Grand Slam win?

In their last Grand Slam, amid the mayhem of Cardiff nine years ago, Ireland’s victory was secured only on the very last kick of the match. The finale had swung every which way and fed both sets of spectators through the wringer. Brian O’Driscoll scored a pair of critical tries from a combined distance of about six inches.

How many tries did Ireland score in the Rugby World Cup?

This time it came at a canter: three first-half tries, Ireland never behind and 16 points up at the break. No desperate late drama, no fears, precious few doubts. It was a Ronan O’Gara drop-goal at the death which won it in 2009.

What is the first primate to win a grand slam?

The first primate was blasted into space, which might not have meant much to the majority in the world but certainly did to poor Albert, the rhesus monkey in the jumpsuit. And then there was Ireland winning their first and so far only Grand Slam. That definitely passed Albert by. But then, it did not mean that much to the Irish either.

Who scored the try in the Wales v England rugby match?

Mullan scored a try and Bleddyn Williams replied for Wales. The game swung when Trott fumbled a high ball and Des O’Brien charged upfield. The back-rower was cursing himself for failing to control the ball when John “Jack” Daly arrived.