Who can see expunged records in Louisiana?

The $25,000 question: Who can see my expunged record?

  • Any law enforcement agency.
  • Criminal justice agencies.
  • Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners.
  • Louisiana State Board of Nursing.
  • Louisiana State Board of Dentistry.
  • Louisiana State Board of Examiners of Psychologists.
  • Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners.

What crimes Cannot be expunged in Louisiana?

Under Louisiana’s law, the only felonies that cannot be expunged are those for violent offenses, sex offenses, crimes against minors, and drug trafficking offenses (mere possession with intent to distribute is eligible for expungement).

How long does expungement take in Louisiana?

In all, it usually takes three to four months to have something expunged from your record. Once you file for an expungement, it takes 60 days for all the relevant agencies to respond to your request. From there, you will need to wait for your Certificate of Compliance to be mailed to you by the Louisiana State Police.

What are requirements to have your record expunged in Louisiana?

To expunge a misdemeanor conviction, five years must have elapsed since the completion of any sentence, deferred adjudication, or period of probation or parole, and you must not have been convicted of any felony offense during the five-year period, nor have felony charges pending when you apply.

How does expungement work in Louisiana?

What Effect Does Expungement Have? Once a Louisiana court grants an expungement, the court orders all state agencies to remove (not destroy) their records. Your conviction, dismissal, or acquittal is erased. In most cases, you can legally deny being arrested or convicted.

How long after expungement can I buy a gun in Louisiana?

10 years
In conclusion, gun rights can be restored in Louisiana under state and federal law after a felony conviction as long as (1) the conviction is not for a crime of violence, (2) 10 years have passed since completion of the sentence, and (3) the conviction is expunged.

How long do felonies stay on your record in Louisiana?

You can expunge one misdemeanor conviction every 15 years and one DUI conviction every 10 years. If your conviction is for a felony, you must wait 10 years. You may not have other convictions or pending charges. You can usually expunge one felony conviction every 15 years.

How much does it cost to get something expunged off your record in Louisiana?

Include all the required documents and forms including your criminal record. You must get a copy of your criminal record from the state of Louisiana within 30 days of filing your expungement petition. Pay the $550 fee.

Do I need a lawyer to file for an expungement in Louisiana?

So while Louisiana law does not require you to retain an expungement attorney, the services provided by an attorney will make the process go much more smoothly.

How much does an expungement cost in Louisiana?