Who is responsible for environmental impact assessment in India?

1 Introduction. On 23 March 2020, the Indian Ministry of Environment, Forest, and Climate Change (hereinafter ‘the Ministry’) issued Draft Environmental Impact Assessment Notification, 2020 (hereinafter the ‘Draft EIA Notification’), which is intended to replace the existing EIA Notification, 2006.

Is EIA mandatory in India?

Applicability in India EIA was first introduced in 1978 with regard to the various river valley projects all over the country and later expanded to include various other developmental procedures in its scope. EIA is now mandatory for over 30 classes of projects.

How many models of environmental impact assessment are there in India?

There are two types of EIA models- i. The statutory model which makes the assessment of impact compulsory under an enacted law, or a delegated legislation, and ii. The administrative model under which an administration exercises its discretion to find out whether an impact study is necessary.

What is environment impact assessment in India?

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) is a process of evaluating the likely environmental impacts of a proposed project or development, taking into account inter-related socio-economic, cultural and human-health impacts, both beneficial and adverse.

How is EIA conducted?

Essentially, an EIA is designed to identify the potential risks of a project (e.g., infrastructure development such as a dam) to environmental and human well-being and identify measures to eliminate and/or mitigate these risks. This can be done by replacing and/or modifying planned activities to reduce impacts.

When did EIA came in India?

EIA in India was started in 1976-77, when the Planning Commission asked the then Department of Science and Technology to examine the river-valley projects from the environmental angle.

Who grants environmental clearance?

The project proponent submits an application for environmental clearance with the MoEF if it falls under Project A category or the state government if it falls under project B category. The application form is submitted with EIA report, EMP, details of public hearing and NOC granted by the state regulators.

How many stages are there in EIA?

Stages of the EIA process EIA has 5 main stages. If an EIA is required, an Environmental Assessment Impact Report will be written and submitted with the application for development consent. The public will have the chance to comment. This makes sure you’re given a chance to be involved in decision making.

What is the scope of EIA?

Although the scope of EIA is limited to major developmental projects having wider consequences on human environment but, theoretically speaking, any action, project, operation, administrative policies, plans and programmes and legislative actions etc.

Who can conduct EIA study?

EIA study has to be conducted by environmental consultant who are registered with Department of Environment under EIA Consultant Registration Scheme. Company like UiTM-A&A Laboratory wear many different hats and can provide relevant services such as environmental monitoring, which is also part of EIA study.

Which ministry is responsible for EIA?

The Union Ministry of Environment and Forest (MoEF) notified the new EIA Notification in September 2006 after putting up the draft notification for public comment for a year. The objective of EIA Notification 2006 is to address the limitations in the old EIA Notification (1994).

How do I get an EIA certificate?

Documents required for Environment Impact Assessment (EIA)

  1. Details of Applicant.
  2. Details of project Proposed.
  3. Details of Alternative Site.
  4. Details of nature of land.
  5. Details of objectives of project.
  6. Details of climate and air quality.
  7. Details of water balance at site.
  8. Details of solid Waste.