Who is the judge of Chennai High Court?

Justice Munishwar Nath Bhandari is the current Chief Justice of Madras High Court. He assumed office on 14 February 2022….

Madras High Court
Authorized by Constitution of India
Appeals to Supreme Court of India
Judge term length Mandatory retirement by age of 62

Who was K Subba Rao?

Koka Subba Rao (15 July 1902 – 6 May 1976) was the ninth Chief Justice of India (1966–1967). He also served as the Chief Justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

Who is the first Telugu Chief Justice?

Is Justice NV Ramana the first Chief Justice of India from Andhra Pradesh High Court? A stalwart, Justice K Subba Rao who was the 9th CJI was from Andhra Pradesh State but his parent High Court was not the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

Who was the first woman chief justice of Madras High Court?

Kanta Kumari Bhatnagar
Kanta Kumari Bhatnagar (Hindi: कान्ता भटनागर c. 1930 – 13 August 2011) was a judge and human rights activist in India. Bhatnagar was the first woman to become a Chief Justice of the Madras High Court and was the first chairperson of the Rajasthan State Human Rights Commission.

Who is the custodian of Fundamental Rights?

The Supreme Court of India is the highest court in the country. Apart from making final decisions on any matter, Supreme Court is also the custodian of Fundamental Rights. There are six fundamental rights in the Indian Constitution.

What is the doctrine of prospective overruling?

The doctrine of Prospective Overruling originated in the American Judicial System. It dictates that a decision made in a particular case would have operation only in the future and will not carry any retrospective effect on any past decisions. This doctrine was first invoked in India in the case of Golak Nath v.

How many HC are in India?

25 High Courts
There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.

Who is a Chief Justice?

List of chief justices

Chief Justice Prior position
16 William Rehnquist (1924–2005) Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (1972–1986)
17 John Roberts (born 1955) Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit (2003–2005)

Who is NV Raman?

Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana ([nuːtalapaːʈi venkaʈa ɾamaɳa]; born 27 August 1957) is an Indian judge who is serving as the 48th and current Chief Justice of India. Previously, he was a judge on the Supreme Court of India, chief justice of Delhi High Court and the acting chief justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court.

Who is the 49th Chief Justice of India?

Supreme Court of India (1950–present)

No. Name (birth–death) Period of office
45 Dipak Misra (1953–) 28 August 2017
46 Ranjan Gogoi (1954–) 3 October 2018
47 Sharad Arvind Bobde (1956–) 18 November 2019
48 Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana (1957–) 24 April 2021